DeShawna Green and Dean of Students, Mike Taberski, embrace as she excitedly receives the Dean Ken Smith Award. All photos taken by Kathleen Zimmerman.

Please join us in congratulating the following students and organizations for their successes this year!

Arts & Humanities

·         Fine Arts and Media Arts: Alexander Bub

·         Creative Writing: Olivia Wright

·         Criminal Justice: Vicky Shaw

·         Communication Studies: Marissa Coidakis

·         History: Elizabeth LaPlume

·         Political Science: Noah Bond

·         Theatre: Nicolina Jackson

·         Philosophy and Literature: Bonnie Shinn

Bonnie Shinn, Philosophy and Literature Student of the Year, with Prof. Fran Chelland.
Marissa Coidakis, recipient of the Communication Studies Student of the Year Award, and Prof. William Homestead.



·         Elementary Education: Emily Remillard

·         Secondary Education: Miranda Shorty

·         Educated Communities: Devon Claverie-Murphy

·         Kinesiology: Calixte Laurent

·         Outdoor Education: Andrew Fowler

Emily Remillard poses with her award for Early Childhood Education Student of the Year.
Devon Claverie-Murphy, Educational Communities Student of the Year, and Prof. Philip Huckins.


·         Accounting: Justin Eck

·         Business Administration: Christopher Sjoo

·         Computer Infromation Systems: Megan Stewart

·         Game and Digital Media Design: Eugene Calnan

·         Sports & Education Management: Michaela Pomeroy 

Michaela Pomeroy, Sports & Rec. Student of the Year, and Prof. Susan Murray.
Christopher Sjoo, Business Student of the Year, and Prof. Cynthia Burns-Martin.


Natural & Social Sciences

·         Biology: Angela Seney

·         Environmental Science: Patrick Anderson

·         Environmental Studies & Sustainability: Jessica Sayers

·         Health Science: Meghan Korchman

·         Psychology: Erica Lissner

Meghan Korchman, recipient of the Health Science Student of the Year Award.
Prof. Kittie Weber and Erica Lissner, Psychology Student of the Year.


Leadership Awards:

·         Community Diversity Award: Criminal Justice Club

·         Phoenix Award: QSA

·         Emerging Leader Award: Anthony Nardi

·         Unsung Leader Award: Jade Henley

·         Excellence in Leadership: Sean McDowell

·         Student Organization of the Year: Student Entertainment Committee

·         Campus Compact Award: Claudia Gutierrez

·         Community Service Award: Alex Bub

·         Program of the Year Award: Sex Education Carnival by QSA

·         Larry Taylor Student Transformation Ward: Lila Sakurai

·         Dean Ken Smith Award: DeShawna Green

Men’s Soccer Coach, Dave DeCew with Anthony Nardi, recipient of the Emerging Leader Award.
Sean McDowell and India Barrows, Head of Diversity and Inclusion, embrace as he wins the Excellence in Leadership Award.
The QSA Club receives the Phoenix Award. Ryder Close, India Barrows, and Emmi Heath.
DeShawna Green, recipient of the Dean Ken Smith Award, and Dean of Students, Mike Taberski.


Previous articleKatie Donohue
Next article“Old” Disney Channel vs. “New” Disney Channel
Marissa is an alumnus of the New England College Class of 2019. She graduated Magna Cum Laude with two Bachelor's Degrees in Communication Studies and Business Marketing. She was the Editor in Chief for The New Englander from 2018-2019 and wrote many pieces across all sections while also managing the website, social media, and designing print editions. Marissa currently works at Amoskeag Health in the Advancement Department as the Content Marketing Specialist.
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments