Men’s Lacrosse 2019 NECC/NAC Champions


The NEC men’s lacrosse team won their fourth straight conference championship this spring, defeating SUNY-Delhi 12-3. They then defeated SUNY Canton, 17-8, in the NECC/NAC Alliance Championship. The Pilgrims went on to face Norwich in the first round of the Division III Men’s Lacrosse Tournament, which they won 12-10. Unfortunately, in the second round they fell to third ranked Tufts, 24-7. The Grims finished with an overall record of 10-9, and an undefeated conference (NECC) record of 3-0.

The Pilgrims cleaned house in the regular season awards in their first year in the NECC. Senior Connor Fries won Player of the Year, Senior William Platt won Goalkeeper of the Year, and Jedd Brown won Coach of the Year.

Eight players were awarded All-Conference accolades: Connor Smith, Reilly Parker, Reed Foster, Connor Fries, David Benjamin, Maxime Danis, Austin Frankel, and William Platt. Also, Charles Hacking was named to the Del Malloy Sportsmanship Team.

The Pilgrims had a rough start to the season going 1-7 in their first eight games, but they ended the regular season strong with a 6-1 record through their last seven games.

“Our seniors are our leaders, they are the face of this team, I will for sure miss their passion for the game having them with us,” said junior Maxime Danis. “They perfectly filled their role on the team and we will not be able to easily replace them. They helped form the future of the program and showed us the path to success for their four years, as they went on to win four conference championships in a row.”

The Pilgrims look forward to going for their fifth conference title in a row in 2020.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here